Mirror, mirror…

Life is better when you’re beautiful.

Everyone wants to be the pretty girl. Do you know the one I’m talking about? She has her life together. Her Instagram feed is flawless, with pictures of her travels and her freshly manicured nails interposed between the carefully photoshopped/filtered shots of her friend circle and her labrador puppy and her boyfriend.

I know her- I know that Pretty Girl. We all know who the Pretty Girls are when we see them. Sometimes, I wonder- what is my social media presence perceived as? Am I just another Pretty Girl to someone else? It’s definitely within the realm of possibility.

I used to want to be a Pretty Girl. I curated my Instagram photos- only bright, saturated photos would white borders would make the cut!- and was obsessed with building a social media following. I didn’t believe I was a Pretty Girl because they never have problems. They’re always perfectly suntanned, surrounded by 3 or more barbie-esque friends, iced lemonades in hand. Me? I tried my hardest to project that effortless, model off-duty vibe, but I knew that I was a walking paradox. I was trying to hard to seem like I wasn’t trying hard at all (this is a trend it seems, among teens and young adults- I’m not alone in this).

Slowly I’ve realized a few things (2017 is my year for realizing stuff. Call me Kylie)

  1. Everyone has problems. It’s Life. We all know that popular saying- social media shows off the brightest, best-est parts of our lives. And of course it does- why would anyone publicize their dark moments? Just remember, those dark moments exist…for everyone.
  2. Pretty Girls…can be your friends. Don’t hate on them just because they’re beautiful, wear fake eyelashes everyday, and project the image of having a wonderful life. These things aren’t indicators of whether or not they’re good people. Girls should support each other, not tear each other down.
  3. Live authentically. I’m taking a break from social media this week- no Facebook or Snapchat at all, and minimal Instagram. I’ll be going back to it, of course, but it’s good to take a step back and take everything into perspective. I want to be someone of substance. Someone who can hold deep and meaningful conversations, and dissect deep and meaningful rhetoric. I also want to have a pretty Instagram feed. And I can do both!

1:24AM.

Time for bed. TL;DR- no one is really a Pretty Girl. It’s just an image. As a seventeen year old, social media heavily influences several aspects of my life and is messing a little with my self esteem and the way I perceive normality.

 

Leave a Reply

